How creating art helped me.


I know people for whom art is very therapeutic, and it has been suggested by at least one of them that yoga is my art. And now, to that I add the study of bhakti yoga, as I am learning how to play the harmonium and sing kirtan.

Blossom

772fe71a-1b0f-4d01-9fec-27a84d17dbb2

 I have always had an interest and appreciation for art. Although I was a very depressed child I recall getting excited for art class. I felt safe. I expressed my darkest feelings. I noticed how calm I felt after I completed a painting. I wasn’t talented but I was passionate. With time and practice I become a better artist.

As an adult, I’ve realized how beneficial art is for the mind. Creating art was a very effective way to stimulate my brain. I developed certain habits of thinking. I managed to cope with life’s challenges. I also started thinking outside the box .

Through personal experience these are some benefits I gained from creating art.

Communication- As a shy child I had a very hard time communicating my feelings. Art made me communicate in a different more personal level. I didn’t have to say much. My art work said it all.

Therapeutic – Art…

View original post 124 more words

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

