Sandy Hook Elementary


From the archives, sadly…

The Considered Kula

Cover of "Rampage: The Social Roots of Sc... Cover via Amazon

The Anusara Yoga Teacher Training manual talks about the cultivation of three qualities: soft heart, sharp mind, and vibrant body. I have a friend who lives and has raised her children in Newtown, CT, and my longest friend spent much of his childhood here. Like so many coming together on social media, my heart is broken. It breaks, also for the dozens of children who have died of hunger since I’ve been typing this, for the slow attrition of young people in inner cities, and for children killed by our unmanned drones in Pakistan and Yemen.

Sharp mind comes into play here, and I cannot help but share what I have learned in the process of teaching sociology to college students for the past eight years. In doing so, I will draw upon explanations of rampage school shootings advanced in the research of Katherine S. Newman

View original post 1,231 more words

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

