Beannacht a Samhain!


Picture of poem.

The poem as I wrote it in my journal last year.

Last year I posted a reflection on Samhain, and what it had to do with the Celtic Soul I seem to have. In the back of my mind was a poem I had written to help a friend who “didn’t get” Halloween to appreciate it better. A few weeks ago, I opened that journal and the page fell open to the poem, which I had nearly forgotten. As it turns out my friend had resurfaced the poem recently as well. I think it’s high time it saw the light of day, so the rest of you could read it as well. I realize some may consider it “derivative” of John O’Donohue’s practice of delivering blessings, but my friend is the only other person I know who’s savored read his fine book Anam Ċara. So on this Halloween, when the veil between the worlds is thin, and we reap the rich harvest of memory, I wish you blessings.

Beannacht a Samhain
(for DDM)

As the moon climbs high over
     field and vine stripped bare,
May you plant spring’s sweet shoots
     in the fecund dark.

May your adornment obscure you
     from those who would harm.

As your wealth returns from the
     summer grounds

And your rich harvest is
     gathered in,
May what keeps you from sweet memory be as thin as
     a stretched womb.

May you give from your fullness
     and receive according to your need.

As you gather with others,
     may the flame purify
All under your roof, and
     rekindle your own hearth.

May the ripe seeds of your intention
     Await warmth and light.

Here is one account of the history of some of the practices mentioned in the poem. These are not just words to me. For instance, like the ancients, I am just now completing a seasonal 21 day cleanse. Blessings of Samhain!

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

