One foot in front of the other


Four Year Strong

Four Year Strong (Photo credit: eastscene)

My daughter has been home sick for two days with a very bad cold. I’ve been very grateful that I’ve been able to do my grading at home so I could help take care of her. She’s a millennial, you know, so a young adult like my students. Like Adam Lanza.

I’ve been one of those dads who let her play her music in the car (sometimes). This includes one of her favorite bands, Four Year Strong. The stuff is barely listenable for someone with my old ears, but I was young once. Despite the rough edges of their usual arrangements, however, there is some sweetness to the band, particularly in their harmonies. There have been occasions when I have completely embarrassed her while trying to sing the harmonies while she has friends in the car. Worse yet, I’ve sung it with a friend of hers while he’s picked it out on the guitar.

This is all a long-winded way of saying that they have a perfectly listenable sweet acoustic version of the song, which you can hear over on my Tumblog, or below if you have Spotify installed.

I have always loved the focus on the breath in this song. Also, I identify with the metaphor of walking. In the difficulties I have faced in my 50 trips around the sun, my various practices, and those with whom I’ve shared them, have seen me through. Certainly it’s been “yoga” even when it’s just breathing, and since I was a young one myself, walking. Always music. Four Year Strong is singing this one for you.

I’ll never forget the day my heart fell from my chest
It was the moment that I said goodbye
And I laid your body to rest
I’ll never take this life for granted
I’m living it for two
And since you’re always the one who sang the songs
And I’ll be singing this one for you

One step at a time
One foot in front of the other
I’m gonna get through this one way or another
Cause I know it’s warmer where you are
Cause no matter how far the view
I still always look up to you
I’ll always look up to you

via Four Year Strong – One Step At A Time Lyrics.

Despite the sweetness of the singing and the arrangements, there is a sadness to the song, too, as it deals with loss and grief. Today I’ve read that a non-profit known as Give an Hour has responded to the situation in Newtown, CT.

Give an Hour, a national nonprofit organization providing free mental health services to members of the military, veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan, their loved ones, and their communities, is expanding its reach to include victims, families, teachers, and first responders dealing with the aftermath of the tragic shootings in Newtown, Conn.

“We will learn more details about this situation as things unfold in the coming days and weeks. When the community is ready, Give an Hour plans to step up and offer mental health services to anyone, including young children, affected by these tragic events,” says Dr. Barbara Van Dahlen, founder and president of Give an Hour. “With hundreds of licensed mental health professionals in the Connecticut area, Give an Hour has the capacity to help those who are experiencing grief, loss, and anxiety as a result of this horrible tragedy, and we want to do our part,” adds Dr. Van Dahlen.

via Give an Hour Stands Ready to Provide No Cost Mental Health Services to Victims, Families, Teachers, and First Responders of Connecticut School Shootings.

Particularly in this holiday season, in the darkening days, which can be difficult for so many, may we do our part to walk and breathe with those experiencing grief and loss, “one step at a time.” May we sing home the spirits of our dear departed.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Discoveries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

