Simplicity and Contentment


Image taken Monday, October 14.

On Saturday, I began yoga teacher training with Sara Davidson Flanders at The Heart Spot in Johnston, RI. Incidentally, it’s a brand spanking new studio I kept wanting to call “the Sweet Spot.” This was the culmination of a very full week, which included a lot of “doing” for my day job and other involvements. But it also was a week in which I had the good fortune to gather with or hear from supportive friends.

Words give lie to the experience, so I will not be offering a lot of detail about the journey. If I blog at all about detail it will be to offer what I’m learning upon reflection. Moreover, I don’t have time at the moment to do justice to even that. Suffice it to say that this is the right time for me to be beginning this journey, the right teacher with whom to begin it and the right group of fellow yogīs to travel alongside.

One thing I did learn in our beginning exercises is the importance of simplicity, particularly in giving instruction. If you have been reading this blog at all, you might realize that is often my “work.” It is an interesting coincidence that in yesterday’s offering on the Blog of Henry David Thoreau, a journal entry from October 14, 1857, Thoreau contrasts nature’s simplicity with the financial crises of his day. While crises have taken their place, those are well behind us, and yet nature abides. But from that post I pulled out the following gem, which I hope will be a guide for me.

The sky is offers shades fire and water this morning: burnt orange, salmon, magenta,  cerulean and others. A planned ten minutes on my mat this morning turned into 40. How did that happen? It was such a sweet place to be, a sweet friend with whom to be. We’ve been through a lot together. But kitchen sādhanā and everyday life calls, and I must relent.

May we each find simplicity and contentment in our day.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simplicity and Contentment

  1. Pingback: The Heart is the Context | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

