Journaling and Friction


All the cool kids “journal.” It seems like such a bohemian or “hipster” thing to do. I remember being really impressed with Samuel Pepys in high school, when at age 14 I started keeping a diary. Lately, I was purging some old stuff in boxes and came across a collection of notebooks. I recall being impressed at the things I read and thought and wrote and even doodled. I guess it’s true what I’ve been told, that one never knows as much as right after one finishes one’s dissertation.

I’ve been journaling a lot lately, and I don’t mean just here. I do have a personal journal program on my computer, but more importantly, I have filled a few journals with in the course of my Anusara immersions, as we were encouraged to do by our teacher. The last journal I bought was a hardbound affair I found in a funky bookstore in a college town. I was looking for a Moleskine there, but managed at least to buy a Moleskine pen. As this journal is nearly full, and I am looking ahead to workshops and teacher training, I’m kicking the tires on a Moleskine.

At the same time, I have some serious iPad envy. Mac OS X 10.8, “Mountain Lion” has brought more iCloud services to the Mac OS, so one’s data is spread out across and available from multiple devices. Having neither Moleskine nor iPad, I stand at a crossroads. How do I reconcile the conveniences and æsthetics of both a Moleskine and a mobile device?

Enter the Smart Notebook from Moleskine, and a new version of Evernote for iOS [see picture above]. The special Moleskine notebook is about twice as pricey as the usual one, so caveat emptor, but if you seriously make your living from ideas in any way, it may be worth the investment. In any case, I firmly believe our artifacts should not impede our work, which is why I carefully choose the technology I do, even going so far as doing without, if I can’t get the right thing. For me, this rapprochement between Evernote and Moleskine is a step in the right direction. Incidentally, it’s also a further development in augmented reality.

Update, 9/8/12 Here’s the video:

Source: youtube.com via Richard on Pinterest

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Discoveries and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Journaling and Friction

  1. drndark says:

    Reblogged this on drndark and commented:
    Great App me thinks…

  2. Pingback: Journaling Redux | The Considered Kula

  3. Pingback: Tumbling toward Mabon | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

