Songs about springtime


Springtime is “full on” here in Northeastern Massachusetts, USA, with all that entails. Despite the apparent drought and regular occurrence of fire weather warnings, things are still quite green, the flowering trees are in bloom, and the morning air is soft, moist, and fragrant. Spring is kapha dosha in the Ayurvedic system, and among the universal principles of alignment, it refers to the expanding inner spiral.

All this talk of spring has me in a very Greg Brown mood, and the previous post was just the beginning. For only he could write a lyric such as this.

It’s another happy April
to every happy fool.
And you move through my dreams
like a trout moves through a pool.
Sure I will do anything,
but I blush at the reverie.
Sleeper come and go with me.

via Greg Brown — Lyrics for DREAM CAFE.

For it is partly sleepy that I do feel today, because of some accidents of proximate biography, specifically having to teach a late class last night, but also that’s just the nature of a kapha season. I think of nature’s tug as against civilization and its discontents; there’s another absolutely genius song from the same album.

[chorus:]
Love calls like the wild birds–
it’s another day.
A Spring wind blew my list of
things to do…away.

My friends are gettin older,
so I guess I must be too.
Without their loving kindness,
I don’t know what I’d do.
Oh the wine bottle’s half empty–
the money’s all spent.
And we’re a cross between our parents
and hippies in a tent.

[repeat chorus]

via Greg Brown — Lyrics for DREAM CAFE.

What good is an artist, however, who is not self-reflexive, who doesn’t, with some humor, place one’s own humble efforts in the larger context, particularly the larger context of this great expansive season?

Spring and what’s left of the hippies return from old rooming houses and Mexico.
More letters, more journals, more poems to burn; Real heat at last.
At last my words glow.

via Greg Brown — Lyrics for SLANT 6 MIND.

It’s against this very nature that my daily duties do chafe. I guess I’m saying I have a bit of spring fever, and it’s a helluva time for an academic, who has papers to grade, students to reassure and one last bit of brilliance to summon for those rapidly dwindling classes. One hopes to end the semester on a high note, to stand at the summit and survey the terrain we’ve covered, rather than be mired in minutiae and administrivia. So I suppose it it is this vantage of spring that does prove expansive and provide the very capacity to reach it.

Take some time today to enjoy this fine season and use it to help you do your life.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

