Happy New Year!


I was searching my iTunes for this version of “Auld Lang Syne” by Jean Redpath that was actually the setting preferred by the composer Robert Burns. I believe it was Dana Westover who played it a long time ago on WUMB-FM. It will sound unusual to your ear.

In the process of searching, I found this lovely song by Regina Spektor I had forgotten about. (It seems it may have been written by Peggy Lee.)

My dear acquaintance, it’s so good to know you
For strength of your hand
That is loving and giving
And a happy new year
With love overflowing
With joy in our hearts
For the blessed new year

Raise your glass and we’ll have a cheer
For us all who are gathered here
And a happy new year to all that is living
To all that is gentle, kind, and forgiving
Raise your glass and we’ll have a cheer
My dear acquaintance, a happy new year

All of those who are hither and yonder
With love in our hearts
We grow fonder and fonder
Hail to those who we hold so dear
And hail to those who are gathered here

And a happy new year to all that is living
To all that is gentle, young, and forgiving
Raise your glass and we’ll have a cheer
My dear acquaintance, a happy new year

Happy new year

via Regina Spektor – My Dear Acquaintance Lyrics.

(It’s kind of weird, because just the other day, I was listening to “On the Radio,” which had turned up in a Genius playlist.)

Last night I also found this fresh interpretation of an old chestnut by Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

New Year’s Eve seems to be another one of those occasions in which we sink when we juxtapose expectations with reality. Instead, gather close those who are near, “hail” those who are far, and in the juvenescence of the year, enjoy “all that is gentle, kind, and forgiving.”

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Discoveries and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

  1. Richard Hudak says:

    Reblogged this on The Considered Kula and commented:

    From the archives!

    Since as a professor I am such a noodge I like to twist all your wigs, I offer this alternate setting for Auld Lang Syne, the one actually preferred by Robert Burns, the people’s composer, as sung by the incomparable Jean Redpath. And a few other sweet songs.

    Let us raise to each other swirling glasses filled with bittersweet memories of the year departing, and hopes for the new one arriving.

    Me? I’ll have the mulled red wine with muddled cherries and floating cranberries.

Leave a Reply

