perfectionism minefield


How wonderful to read this acknowledgement from Brenée Brown, social work researcher, who a few months ago was a darling in Anusara circles, her TED talks on vulnerability making the rounds of blogs and discussion board.

Personally, I’m in that space, having made a big push to get the grades submitted for five of my six courses. To arrive at five is in itself to eschew perfectionism. Now that I can turn more attention to the holiday, I have to pare down my wish list to what is manageable. What is essential to get through the day with decorum intact? How can I simplify. How can I treasure what is truly important? This is the practice at this enfolding time of year.

The holidays are a perfectionism minefield. My expectations always need radical reality-checking this time of year and that normally comes in the form of a total meltdown. The good news is that I often have a lot more fun on the backside of my breakdown when I start letting go and leaning into the crazy.

As I think about my own life and reflect upon what many of the people around me are going through this Christmas, it’s clear that struggle doesn’t take off for the holidays. The gremlins don’t go on vacation. Checks bounce, chemotherapy appointments are scheduled, relationships keep unravelling, being alone feels even lonelier, and the “never enoughs” are in full swing.

As I prepare to spend the next week with my big, wonderful, crazy family, I’ve decided to find my holiday magic in the mess; to practice love and gratitude with the special group of folks who keep showing up and loving me, not despite my vulnerabilities, but because of them.

Wishing you a blessed mess and a Wholehearted 2012!

via finding magic in the mess – my blog – Ordinary Courage. [emphasis added]

“Lean into the crazy”, dear readers.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Discoveries and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to perfectionism minefield

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | The Considered Kula

  2. Pingback: Wholehearted Devotion | The Considered Kula

  3. Pingback: Superheroes | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

