Dancing with the Divine


Greetings from “Dancing with the Divine,” the world tour of John Friend, founder of Anusara Yoga. Actually, I’m writing from a coffee shop in Bronxville, NY, near where I am staying. But the workshops are in beautiful Montclair, NJ, at the state university, on the seventh floor of a conference center from which one can see the New York City skyline.

For me the journey has been back 25 years, through so many names I remember from then: the Henry Hudson Parkway, Mosholu Parkway, Dyckman Street, the Cloisters, the “GW” and Montclair itself.

But it has been a year since I have seen “the big guy.” I realize how far my practice, on and off the mat, has come since then. What a time, when I’m also on Cate Stillman’s cleanse, to take stock. I’m glad I made the trek.

I also want to give a shout out to the Blended Beverage Café, on the “south side” of Montclair, where I had a beautiful living foods root salad for lunch today, and a great conversation with a retired firefighter, and someone running a “coming of age” program for young girls in the art space above. I also got to see a great exhibition of photos from Kingston Jamaica in same space. It was really right to wander off beyond my comfort zone on a voyage of discovery.

Well, it’s time to get ready for tomorrow and get some shuteye, for it’s an early start tomorrow.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dancing with the Divine

  1. Pingback: Emotional Chaos Remembered in Tranquility | The Considered Kula

  2. Pingback: Open to Grace: A Mala | The Considered Kula

  3. Pingback: Breaking: Anusara to become A Teacher Driven Organization | The Considered Kula

  4. Pingback: Celtic Soul Part IV, “A Pelagian Optimism” | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

