Late Summer, Late Afternoon Haiku


What a gift to go on a walk and to have a haiku begin to form in my head. I was on way to Whole Foods, with my little canvas bag with the shoulder strap slung over my shoulder, when I spied group of immature bufflehead ducks in the wetlands formed by a millpond along the Shawsheen River. The sun was setting and there was chill in the air and a nearly autumnal hush. Some words and images began to pop into my head which began easily to be arranged into the familiar form.

Our back to school rush
Settled by late summer hush
Buffleheads glide by.

I am so reminded of last fall’s Yogidetox with Cate Stillman, the first I had joined. Cate really emphasizes being in tune with nature, in particular the change of the seasons. I think it is best observed when we are close to nature. Observing, we have better knowledge of how to align with nature for optimal health. In this part of the world, living things are settling down and storing up reseves for the winter ahead. Many cultural practices align with introspection. What new and old rituals will we observe to align with the change in the seasons? Can we receive the gifts of these turnings?

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Late Summer, Late Afternoon Haiku

  1. Your haiku is beautiful and uplifting!🙂

  2. Pingback: Announcing Your Place in the Family of Things | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

