Online Fall Cleanse/ Yogi Detox with Cate | Yogahealer


Online Fall Cleanse/ Yogi Detox with Cate

Start:October 9, 2011End:October 30, 2011

Venue:Live Worldwide from Driggs, Idaho
Address:Worldwide and 165 Front St., Driggs, ID, United States, 83452

via Online Fall Cleanse/ Yogi Detox with Cate | Yogahealer.

Already invitations for events occurring in mid-October are arriving, and one for Cate Stillman’s Fall Cleanse/Yogi Detox is no exception. Yesterday I received via snail mail a package of informational postcards with recipes. I fully intend to share them with those close by—others will have to go online to learn more about Cate’s cleanse. I have blogged before about my spring cleanse experience, so you know I highly recommend this experience, particularly with Cate. I lost 15-20 lbs, and so many people who hadn’t seen me in weeks said that I looked “radiant.” Really, I wasn’t going for that. I was looking for a way to consciously eat to nourish my yoga practice, and that is what I found. I wanted to learn how to eat to have energy to last through a two hour master class or a longer workshop, without being bogged down. That I found, as well as other daily self-care practices that make life sane, like meditation, a morning walk, and adequate sleep.

Autumn is a perfect time to cleanse, as in most of our latitudes, nature begins to go dormant and turn inwards. Already there is the adumbration of that with the later sunrises and cool nights. Before long, around here we’ll see the first leaves begin to turn. We usually think of Spring as a natural time to detox from winter, but in addition to a turning inward, many cultures also have the tradition of an autumn cleanse in preparation for winter. Last year I learned that in the Celtic festival of Samhain (which became Halloween), people used to walk with their livestock between two bonfires as a purificatory practice. Then they took that fire into their own hearths.

I’m in no way rushing the autumn. With the conclusion of my teaching responsibilities for the summer session, I am quite finally enjoying this supportive season. But given this latitude, I am marking my dance card for the next eight weeks or so, and this cleanse makes it. Indeed, each time I have learned a little more. I attribute my experience in the spring cleanse partly to going into it knowing what to expect.

But I don’t really need to argue for the relevance of this now. Many people express a desire to be closer to nature and take more cues from the land. I think of the PBS series Frontier House, where so much of what the homesteaders did all summer was predicated on surviving the harsh Montana winters: laying in fuel and food. Not far from here, on the dairy farms in Vermont, people make hay quite literally while the sun shines (or risk buying down their barns due to the spontaneous combustion of decomposing wet hay). Being close to the land, watching industrious bees, for instance, means having autumn and winter in mind, even now.

Lastly, I would share that one does not have to be a yogi to appreciate this cleanse, that all levels are welcome, and that no particular path is mandated. Cate’s cleanse is not only respectful but supportive of all types of constitutions and all sorts of goals. I am continually surprised by greater numbers of people from all walks of life who have experienced interest in cleansing. It’s even made its way into pop culture.

Being predominantly kappa dosha, I would use cayenne pepper in my master cleanse.
Vodpod videos no longer available.

If you have bandwidth at all, I would highly recommend a cleanse, and in particular this one with Cate Stillman. It’s what I know, but I’m not alone in that, and neither would you be if you chose that path.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Online Fall Cleanse/ Yogi Detox with Cate | Yogahealer

  1. Pingback: Dhanteras—Diwali | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

