Canticle, “Grace’s House”


O paradise, O child’s world!
Where all the grass lives
And all the animals are aware!
The huge sun, bigger than the house
Stands and dreams with life in the east
While in the west a thunder cloud
Moves away forever.

No blade of grass is not blessed
On this archetypal, cosmic hill,
This womb of mysteries.

“Tuesday – Dawn – Canticle” in A Book of Hours (2007) by Thomas Merton, Kathleen Deignan, (ed.), from “Grace’s House” in The Collected Poems of Thomas Merton (1977: 331)

Praying the “liturgy of the hours” is an old Christian monastic tradition that I had heard made its way into communidades de base  in Central and South America, where priests available to celebrate the liturgy of the Eucharist were few and far between. Kathleen Deignan, whom I had met at Iona while I was a student at Manhattan College, has collected many poems and meditations of Thomas Merton into such a book. Though I am post-Catholic, I won’t cut those roots where they nourish. I still keep this book handy. Because it’s the Summer Solstice, I figured I’d open my “breviary,” to the appropriate reading, “Tuesday – Dawn,” and pick out something that spoke to the day. On such a day, it is easy to remember we live in a paradise.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Discoveries, Quotations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canticle, “Grace’s House”

  1. Pingback: Practice | The Considered Kula

  2. Pingback: Unwritten | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

