Morning Walk Haiku


This morning, as I was on my somewhat soggy constitutional, as has been my habit during this spring cleanse, I spied a very tall cherry tree (desperately in need of some pruning). Into my head sprang some phrases I shaped massaged into this haiku.

The vibrant green thanks
withering blossoms of spring
for paving the way.

I hope Rilke would approve. This is Day 19 or 20 of my cleanse, depending on how one counts. For the past few days I have been “emerging” from the cleanse, not to the diet I had, but to one that is more nourishing and sustainable. Things taste different than they used to. It’s like I have a higher standard for what I’d be willing to ingest. I seem to require smaller portions. Working one’s way back is somewhat like fording a stream, choosing carefully on which slippery rocks one places one’s feet, while the water rages underneath. Only in cultivating some equipoise can one make it across. This must be why I hear people say emerging can be quite the challenge.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Discoveries, Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Morning Walk Haiku

  1. Pingback: Life Imitates Art | The Considered Kula

  2. Pingback: Announcing Your Place in the Family of Things | The Considered Kula

  3. Pingback: Songs about springtime | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

