Of a morning


Clear skies made the sunrise seem so much earlier today, yet it was cold enough for the mists on the millpond to still be enchanting. These are the things that one discovers when one rises early, and takes a morning constitutional, as people do when they are participating in a cleanse, or have some other spiritual journey to make.

It is Day Twelve of my cleanse, twelve being an auspicious number. This is the fifth day of a juice fast, and when I say juice, I mean with a lot of dark leafy greens, not high-glycemic fruits. Making it through today on nothing but juice would meet my goal for this cleanse. We’ll see how it goes today. I feel pretty good, thinner and lighter, albeit a little tired sometimes, and definitely hungry, too. It’s hard to be around food, especially on the weekends, when grocery shopping needs to get done, and everyone else is rather celebratory. But I think a juice fast is the way to go, giving the digestive system a chance to rest and purge, while not actually depriving oneself of nutrients entirely.

I am grading papers now, too, and I recently learned that cognitive tasks require glucose. But so far, so good. The increased clarity I’m feeling is really helping immensely in any case. If I can hold it together through today, wonderful. If I can make it through Sunday, that’ll have been a seven-day juice fast. At that point, I’ll be ready for solid foods, and will move back the way I came, through raw soups and salads. I’ve already got some adzukis, french lentils, and mung beans sprouting.

A cleanse like this also shifts one’s perspective on what’s good to eat. Different things, I would hope healthier choices, become appealing in such a shift. The sprouts are a case in point. I’m sure I will be writing more on this topic before the cleanse winds to a close in a little over a week.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Discoveries, Experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Of a morning

  1. Pingback: Morning Walk Haiku | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

