Melt Your Heart, Blow Your Mind


This is a post I wrote on my other blog, on September 13, 2010, the day after I completed a two-day workshop with John Friend at the Masonic Hall in Porter Square in Cambridge.

Yesterday marked the end of this two-day cycle with John Friend, founder of Anusara Yoga. Everything my friends said about him was true and more. All they said was, “You’re really going to like him,” and what’s more is that I had personal reasons for liking him.

Initially, I had been at a loss for words, and that’s good, considering that’s rarely true of me. But words begin to coalesce as droplets from this inchoate joy.

For me nearest analog to studying yoga with John Friend was hearing Paul Farmer of Partners in Health, and subject of the book Mountains Beyond Mountains. Farmer speaks very plainly of the complications of providing quality health care in Haiti and other places in the Global South. I’ve often wished I could teach sociology that way.

So too, Friend teaches profound things about yoga in a way that is very accessible. He makes it seem simple, self-evident, and natural. He’s funny and unassuming, grounded and authentic. I feel like he’s the real deal. I feel very fortunate to have had this opportunity. Expect to hear more from me as I continue on this path.

via Dr. Who’s Reading Room, Melt Your Heart, Blow Your Mind.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

