Unwritten


I have written about my first yoga teacher in the post “A Splendid Awakening,” the post about my decision to learn how to teach yoga. She was a big fan of Natasha Bedingfield’s “Unwritten,” which was popular back when I was taking classes with her. For me it’s been something of a “guilty pleasure.”

As a rule, I don’t really follow pop music, and in the video, there is something more than mildly unsettling to a “sophisticated sociologist” (read this as self-deprecating humor) about the Benetton moment in the rain puddles, and appropriated gospel choir that swells toward the end of the song.

But there is something compelling about both the metaphor of writing as applied to the process of self-discovery, and the notion that every moment we may start anew.

…I break tradition, sometimes my tries, are outside the lines
We’ve been conditioned to not make mistakes, but I can’t live that way

Staring at the blank page before you
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not find

Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your inhibitions
Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips

Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins

Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips

Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten…

- Natasha Bedingfield, “Unwritten

All of this is a rather lengthy way of suggesting that I am aware that it’s been a while since I have written substantively. There’s been a lot going on. Chiefly, I think, I have been grading. I think this demands a set of blinders to get through it. I took on an additional course for five weeks at the Graduate and Professional School at Endicott College. On “the other campus,” the University of Massachusetts Lowell, we adjunct faculty have just ratified a contract which will improve our wages, hours and conditions. Speaking of that campus, I will no longer be an adjunct as of September, as I will have a one year Visiting Lecturer position there.

On yet another campus, Merrimack College, this week I begun an online course for the first time. I have taught a “hybrid” before, but this is the first experience wholly online. Though I have missed some board meetings because of the night course, my congregation is planning for its Annual Meeting, and we must “discuss all the things.”

I have also been a part of the May YogiDetox, which requires cultivating some quiet. Most importantly, I also have finished my Anusara immersions, which deserve some really well–considered writing here.

Lastly, there have been many developments in the Anusara community, including some shattering new resignations, and perhaps some hope.

At the same time, I did reserve some time for myself to celebrate the end of the semester with some colleagues, including Yoga at Mingo Beach.

Yesterday also was a gorgeous day weather–wise, and after a meeting at the University, I celebrated by taking myself to the original Life Alive Café in Lowell. But perhaps one of the most wonderful things was the sight of purple martins flying around the bridge over the pond on campus. I had spied them as I had crossed campus after the luncheon.

Here is the AudioBoo I recorded on the way to the meeting at UMass Lowell. It’s the moment at which words began to avail me again.

So I am back in the saddle, or at the keyboard dear friends. Especially with the energy of the expanding inner spiral of spring as we head toward the Solstice, in between teaching online, neglected home sadhana, and preparing for my new endeavors in the fall, I will be trying also to do some writing on vital things.

About Richard Hudak

I am Senior Adjunct Faculty in Sociology at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, and I have been a practitioner of Anusara™ yoga. I have completed 200 hours of teacher training within its diaspora community, consistent with its philosophy and alignment principles.
This entry was posted in Discoveries, Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unwritten

  1. Pingback: Sianna Sherman: Evolve Love | The Considered Kula

  2. Pingback: A Place of Profound Individuality | The Considered Kula

Leave a Reply

